The Word Among Us

Easter 2011 Issue

The Four Levels of Lectio

The Four Levels of Lectio

Lectio divina, the church’s most ancient way of reading Scripture, can be done both individually and in a group. Though not a rigid method, it traditionally involves four basic levels, or movements. In each one, the same Bible passage is read from a different angle. Here is how Pope Benedict describes the process in "Verbum Domini" (87):

1. Lectio, the first level, involves alert reading of the passage, with “a desire to understand its true content: what...

The full article is available to subscribers only

Access all articles, daily meditations and readings, as well as special resources, by becoming a subscriber. View subscription options.

Special Offer: Two week free web-only trial subscription. Sign up now.

Existing Print & Web-Only Subscribers: Login for full access.